Posted in Music

Review: The Piano Guys Fight Song Cover

I like The Piano Guys. Their version of Bring Him Home is hauntingly beautiful. It makes me happy and yet makes me want to cry. I listen to their cover of Jurassic Park nearly every night before I sleep. I have no idea how they came up with all the cool things that they do on and to the piano for What Makes You Beautiful.

Not only are The Piano Guys great musicians, that are quite frankly fun to watch, but they film their music videos in credible and beautiful places. Whether it is at one of the Seven Wonders, on top of a mountain, or floating down a river, their videos are just as visually appealing as they are musically.

So yeah, I’m a fan.

But I do not like their cover of Rachel Platten’s Fight Song.

There is a lot to like about this video. The Scottish Highlands are gorgeous. The Piano Guys are accompanied by a drum and bagpipe group. Bagpipes are my favorite underappreciated instrument. I’m pretty sure they were invented to play Amazing Grace.

Which brings us to what I didn’t like. As with many of their arrangements, The Piano Guys mixed a popular new song with a classic older tune. In this case Fight Song with Amazing Grace.

Simply judging the melodies, yeah, they sound nice together.

But judging by the message of the songs, they are complete opposites and the effect is jarring.

Fight Song is about finding strength inside of yourself. It’s about you being in charge of your life. It’s about not worrying over what other people think. It’s the type of song you listen to at the gym.

This is my fight song
Take back my life song
Prove I’m alright song
My power’s turned on
Starting right now I’ll be strong
I’ll play my fight song
And I don’t really care if nobody else believes
‘Cause I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me

Amazing Grace is about depending on God and His grace to get you through life. Before salvation you were a lost blind wretch utterly unable to do anything for yourself. You endure trials not on your own strength, but by grace. And when you get to heaven you won’t be telling everyone about how you fought your way to success. You’ll be thanking God for providing propitiation for you sin and being with you every moment.

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now I’m found,
Was blind, but now I see.

‘Twas Grace that taught,
my heart to fear.
And grace, my fears relieved.
How precious did that grace appear,
the hour I first believed.

Through many dangers, toils and snares,
I have already come.
‘Tis grace that brought me safe thus far,
and grace will lead us home.

The Lord has promised good to me,
His word my hope secures.
He will my shield and portion be,
as long as life endures.

When we’ve been there ten thousand years,
bright shining as the sun.
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise,
than when we first begun.

