Posted in My Life

Those Things Called Fads

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’ve spent most of my life being purposefully anti-fad. I never had a Furby or a Cabbage Patch doll. I never wore skinny jeans or bell-bottoms. And I didn’t wear make-up until I was a junior in college. I have never read nor watched Harry Potter, Twilight, or The Hunger Games.

All this made me think of fads that I did/am participating in. I have lost count of my Beanie Babies. My grandmother always got us a few for Christmas. I keep my Princess Di bear in a plastic case.

Then there’s Captain America. All the Avengers, but especially Captain America. I am anxiously waiting for Civil War to come out on dvd (because I don’t go to theaters) before I find out all the spoilers (which unfortunately was not the case with The Force Awakens). I am also looking forward to the release of the live-action Beauty and the Beast. According to Oh My Disney quizzes, if I were a princess, I’d be Belle.

Coloring is the new fad on the market. You’ll see commercial for coloring books, find them on the grocery store check-out aisle and recommended on Amazon. It’s the new thing in relaxation. Where did it start? I have not idea, but I like it.

I never outgrew coloring. I still have my Precious Moments coloring book and box of crayons. The problem was that the coloring books available were for children. I didn’t watch Sesame Street as a kid, why would I want to color it as an adult? Not a problem anymore. Adult coloring books are everywhere. Of course a bunch of them are just mandalas which I find pointless. I want to color real pictures.

But this coloring fad is annoying too. Whenever I talk about coloring or make a coloring purchase people assume I’m following the fad. Nope. Not so. I’ve been doing this for a while.

