Posted in Highlights of D.C., Quotes

Quote of the Week #9

“We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defense, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.”  ~ The Constitution of the United States

I know how Jeff Smith and Ben Gates feel.

When I went to the National Archives last week, I had one goal: to see the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution. I wasn’t prepared for the experience. Gazing at the signatures of James Madison, Roger Sherman, George Washington and the other Founding Fathers that I had read about all my life. Realizing what they did. I seriously started “fangirling” inside–inside because you can’t start screaming and going crazy with a guard standing right there. I never want that feeling of awe to go away.

