Posted in Christmas, My Life, Recommendations

Happy Halloween?

Recently, a friend’s innocent Facebook post about fall was hijacked by two people discussing whether Halloween is good or bad for Christians to celebrate. At issue was its roots in pagan Celtic culture and transformation by the Roman Catholic Church. Honestly, I’ve never researched the origins of Halloween, although I’ve heard bits and pieces.

When I look at something like Halloween or Christmas trees (which are also reported to be rooted in pagan culture), the history is good to know, but it’s not solely what I make my final decision on. I also look at how the they are used today.

Christmas trees today have nothing to do with pagan celebrations. (They don’t have anything to do with Christ’s birth either.) Decorating Christmas trees is just a fun family activity that has become a part of our society’s Christmas celebration. And the trees are a convenient location for presents.  Therefore, I do not have qualms about putting up a Christmas tree in my living room every year. (If you do, that’s ok–it is possible to celebrate Christ’s birth without one.)

However, it is a different story with Halloween. A day to dress-up and receive candy sounds like every little girl’s dream. But that is not all that Halloween is. What is the first thing you think of when Halloween is mentioned? Witches? Ghosts? Monsters? Halloween is an evil holiday. I believe the Bible is conclusive on the subject.

“Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live.” (Exodus 18:22)

God hates witchcraft so much that he commanded all witches to be put to death. So should Christians be dressing up like witches, decorating with witches, or celebrating a day associated with witches? I don’t think so.

And then there’s Philippians 4:8 “Finally brethren, whatsoever things are true, (ghosts are out) whatsoever things are honest, (tricks are out) whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure,(witches and vampires are out) whatsoever things are lovely, (monsters are out) whatsoever things are of good report, if there be any virtue, (Halloween is out) and if there be any praise, think on these things.”

My conclusion, based on Scripture, is that we Christians should not celebrate Halloween.

