Posted in My Life, Writings

Most Important Issue

It is not my intention to make this a political blog. I think there are enough people ranting already. However, I came across a question that I think is worth taking the time to publicly answer.

“What is the most important public policy issue.” The question comes from a job application. I had to sit and think about it for several days because I didn’t have an answer. Answering what public policy issue interests me the most is easy (foreign policy), but the application was requesting a judgment call.

Many issues vie for the position: Terrorism, Immigration, Second Amendment, Human Rights, Abortion. . . .

ABORTION

If I could only solve one of America’s problems, it would be abortion. How can the greatest nation on earth allow the massacre of children without even flinching?

Why do we fear terrorists? Because they have no regard for human life. Because they are willing to kill to get what they want. Here in America, this is where we are. We allow babies to be killed because they are unwanted.

Since the Zimmerman trial, the media has inundated us with questions about the race. We are very concerned that whites treat blacks right and vice versa. We want everyone to be treated equally, except for those who don’t have a birthdate yet.

Why do we spend millions of dollars saving endangered animals when we won’t save a human baby? Just a word about viability tests–they are the stupidest things I ever heard of. If you ripped a baby panda out of its mother’s womb too early it wouldn’t survive either. And PETA would be after you.

The immigration situation is a big problem too. I realize that some people are in desperate straits, but they can’t come to the U.S. without the proper documentation. Our focus should be making it easier for people to come legally rather than making it easier to stay illegally.  Sanctuary cities make me angry; please have some respect for the law. It’s hard though, when the government permits the murder of its most defenseless citizens.

I’m glad I live in democratic republic instead of a dictatorship. Many organizations and governments, including the U.S., attempt to pressure totalitarian governments to respect basic human rights. The most basic right being life, of course. Since the people and government of the U.S. do not respect the right to life, we don’t have a leg to stand on when dealing with other nations.

So what do I think needs to be done? We need to amend the Constitution to protect unborn children.

