Posted in Quotes, Recommendations

Quote of the Week #1

Every Monday I plan to post a quote for the week.

Now I need to add a disclaimer. Just because I quote someone does not mean that I endorse everything that person has written/said. Often, I don’t know any more about the person than what can be found on the source of all human knowledge (aka Wikipedia).

Take the source of today’s quote: Anna Quindlen. I have never read any of her books or NY Times articles or columns. I don’t know that I would like what she has to say. But I do like this quote I found.

“Books are the plane, and the train, and the road. They are the destination, and the journey. They are home.”
― Anna Quindlen, How Reading Changed My Life

I absolutely love this quote because I love reading. By reading, you are putting yourself in someone else’s experiences, but you may find like Alan Bennett (whoever he is) that your thoughts and feelings are shared by someone else.

Never stop reading. May I recommend you look for classics? In case you are wondering, I define classics the same way as Italo Calvino, “A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say.”

